The Stanton Lectures 2013-14

The Stanton Lectures 2013-14's image
Created: 2014-01-20 08:59
Institution: Faculty of Divinity
Description: The Stanton Lectures is an endowed series of lectures in the Faculty of Divinity. The 2013-14 Stanton Lectures are given by Stephen Mulhall, Professor and Fellow in Philosophy, New College, Oxford, on the subject of 'The Great Riddle: Wittgenstein and Nonsense, Theology and Philosophy'.

Monday 20 January 2014
1 Nonsense and Theology: Exhausting the Options?

Monday 27 January 2014
2 The Flounder and the Fisherman's Wife: Tractarian Ethics, the Mystical and the Religious

Monday 3 February 1014
3 Grammatical Thomism: Five Ways of Refusing to Make Sense

Monday 17 February 2014
4 Analogical Uses and the Projectiveness of Words: Wittgenstein's Vision of Language

Monday 24 February 2014
5 Perfections and Transcendentals: Wittgenstein's Vision of Philosophy

Monday 3 March 2014
6 Authority and Revelation: Philosophy and Theology
 

Media items

This collection contains 6 media items.

  •  

Media items

Lecture 1

   1,278 views

Collection: The Stanton Lectures 2013-14

Institution: Faculty of Divinity

Created: Tue 21 Jan 2014


Lecture 2

   544 views

Collection: The Stanton Lectures 2013-14

Institution: Faculty of Divinity

Created: Tue 28 Jan 2014


Lecture 3

   398 views

Collection: The Stanton Lectures 2013-14

Institution: Faculty of Divinity

Created: Tue 4 Feb 2014


Lecture 4

   323 views

Collection: The Stanton Lectures 2013-14

Institution: Faculty of Divinity

Created: Tue 18 Feb 2014


Lecture 5

   228 views

Collection: The Stanton Lectures 2013-14

Institution: Faculty of Divinity

Created: Tue 25 Feb 2014


Lecture 6

   265 views

Collection: The Stanton Lectures 2013-14

Institution: Faculty of Divinity

Created: Tue 4 Mar 2014